Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Interested Government Agency J-1 Waivers: The Research Path and the Regional Commission Programs for Physicians

J-1 physician reviewing a regional commission waiver application at a rural clinic in a health professional shortage area.

Written by the Ellis Porter content team. This article has not been reviewed by an attorney. It is general information, not legal advice.

In plain English

If you came to the US on a J-1 and owe two years at home, a US government agency can ask for that requirement to be waived because it wants you to keep doing your work here. That is an interested government agency waiver. Researchers use it when a federal agency values their project. Doctors mostly use it through federal health programs: HHS and four regional commissions that cover Appalachia, the Mississippi Delta, the Northern Border states, and the Southeast. Each one asks you to work full time for three years at a site in a shortage area inside its region, and each has its own rules on location, specialty, recruiting, and fees. Unlike a state’s Conrad 30 program, these federal programs are not limited to 30 doctors a year. The right choice depends on where your job is and what kind of medicine you practice.

Physicians: which J-1 waiver fits you?

Free case evaluation from an Ellis Porter J-1 waiver attorney. Response within 1 business day.

Get your free physician waiver evaluation →

When the agency that wants you can ask for the waiver

You finished residency or your research appointment, a job is waiting, and the two-year home residency requirement stands in the way. There is a path many people miss: a US government agency can ask for the waiver itself, because it wants you here doing work it cares about.

That request is called an interested government agency (IGA) waiver. For physicians, it powers the HHS clinical program and four regional commission programs. For researchers, it lets a federal agency vouch for your project. If you are not yet sure the requirement applies to you, start with the J-1 two-year home residency requirement, and see our J-1 waiver practice for every option.

What is an interested government agency waiver?

An interested government agency waiver is a request, made by a US government agency, to waive the J-1 two-year home residency requirement for someone working on a program the agency sponsors or values. The agency explains why the waiver serves the public interest. The Department of State then recommends, and USCIS makes the final decision.

The authority is INA 212(e), which allows a waiver "pursuant to the request of an interested United States Government agency." The State Department’s regulation at 22 CFR 41.63(c) fills in the details:

  • The exchange visitor must be "actively and substantially involved in a program or activity sponsored by or of interest to such agency."
  • The agency must "fully explain why the grant of such waiver request would be in the public interest" and describe "the detrimental effect" on its program if you had to leave.
  • The request must be signed by the head of the agency or a designee and include copies of all your DS-2019 (or older IAP-66) forms.

You do not apply to an IGA the way you apply for a visa. The agency chooses to sponsor you or not. There is no entitlement, only a request the agency decides to make.

Which federal agencies sponsor J-1 waivers for physicians?

As of November 1, 2026, five federal programs publish rules for recommending waivers for J-1 physicians who will treat patients: HHS and four regional commissions. The Department of Veterans Affairs can also request waivers for doctors it employs. Each regional commission only places physicians at worksites inside its own congressionally defined region.

How the four commission programs compare, per each program’s official materials as of November 1, 2026:

ARC DRA (Delta Doctors) NBRC SCRC
Region 423 counties in 13 states, from southern New York to northern Mississippi, including all of West Virginia 255 counties and parishes in parts of AL, AR, IL, KY, LA, MS, MO, TN Legislatively defined parts of ME, NH, NY, VT Parts of VA, NC, SC, GA, AL, MS, and all of FL
Eligible sites HPSA only (no MUAs) HPSA, mental health HPSA, MUA, or MUP HPSA or MUA/P HPSA, mental health HPSA, MUA, or MUP
Specialty Direct patient care; need must be shown for the specific physician and site Primary care and psychiatry; specialists with added proof of need Primary care and mental health; specialists where need is proven Primary care and psychiatry; specialists with added need letters
Commitment 40 hours a week, 3 years or longer if the state requires 40 hours a week (or 160 a month), at least 3 years 40 hours a week, 3 years 40 hours a week (or 160 a month), at least 3 years
Recruitment 6 months immediately before the request 45 days, within 12 months before submission At least 6 months 45 days, within 12 months before submission
State role State must sponsor and recommend States are encouraged to give input State approves first; ME, NH, VT require Conrad 30 first until slots fill Works with member state J-1 offices
Fee None, per ARC FAQ Not stated in the posted packet; confirm with DRA None, per NBRC FAQ $3,000, non-refundable
Stated review time Customarily 90 days Allow at least 60 business days Typically within 30 days of a complete file Not stated in the guidelines

HPSA means Health Professional Shortage Area; MUA/P means Medically Underserved Area or Population. HHS makes both designations through HRSA.

Several states, including Alabama, Mississippi, and New York, belong to more than one commission. If your job is in one of them, check which footprint your specific county falls in before you choose a program.

The research IGA waiver: when your project is what the agency values

Not every IGA waiver involves patient care. A federal agency can request a waiver for a researcher whose work is part of a program it funds or values, under the same 22 CFR 41.63(c) standard.

HHS publishes its own criteria for research waivers in 45 CFR 50.4. They are demanding. HHS looks for:

  1. A program "of high priority and of national or international significance in an area of interest to the Department."
  2. A researcher who is "an integral part of the program," so that losing you would mean discontinuing the program or a major phase of it.
  3. Proof that "a suitable replacement for the Exchange Visitor cannot be found through recruitment or any other means."
  4. Qualifications "well beyond the usually expected accomplishments" at the graduate, postgraduate, and residency levels.

The regulation is blunt: HHS "will not request a waiver when the principal problem appears to be one of administrative, budgetary, or program inconvenience." A senior title alone is not enough either.

One more point matters for physician-scientists. Under 8 USC 1184(l), the shortage-area practice requirement that applies to most physician waivers does not apply to a federal agency request to employ the physician "full-time in medical research or training." If your work is mostly research, the research route may fit better than a clinical program.

The HHS clinical program, in brief

HHS runs its own clinical waiver program for primary care physicians and general psychiatrists. Under 45 CFR 50.5, you must have finished residency no more than 12 months before your contract starts, and you must commit to three years at 40 hours a week at a facility physically located in a primary care HPSA or MUA/P, or a mental health HPSA for psychiatry. ARC’s own FAQ notes that HHS has expanded its program to cover hospitalist placements in the Appalachian region. HHS has enough moving parts to deserve its own page, so we compare it side by side with the state route in HHS waiver vs Conrad 30.

Appalachian Regional Commission J-1 waiver: what ARC requires

The ARC J-1 waiver is for physicians who agree to provide direct patient care at least 40 hours a week, for at least three years, at a site in an HRSA-designated HPSA inside the Appalachian region. ARC places physicians only in HPSAs. Its FAQ says plainly that ARC does not make placements in MUAs.

Key points from the ARC J-1 Visa Waiver Program page and its Federal Co-Chair policy (revised 2024):

  • A state in the Appalachian region must sponsor you. The request goes to ARC only after a written recommendation from the governor, the ARC state alternate, or a high-ranking state public health official.
  • Travel and on-call time do not count toward the 40 hours, though the state may make exceptions for obstetricians.
  • The employer must show a good-faith effort to recruit a US doctor in the same salary range during the six months immediately before the request.
  • The contract may not include a non-compete or non-solicitation clause that discourages you from continuing to practice in any HPSA after the commitment ends.
  • ARC does not permit telework placements, except for specific, temporary, pre-approved cases.

A timing note: as of November 1, 2026, ARC’s page says applications received from May 1 to October 2, 2026 were held under a processing moratorium and will be evaluated in order of receipt beginning October 5, 2026. If you filed in that window, expect a queue.

Physicians: which J-1 waiver fits you?

Get a free physician waiver evaluation from an Ellis Porter attorney. Response within 1 business day.

Get your free physician waiver evaluation →

Delta Regional Authority J-1 waiver: the Delta Doctors program

The Delta Regional Authority J-1 waiver, called Delta Doctors, lets J-1 physicians trained in the US work for three years in shortage areas inside DRA’s footprint: 255 counties and parishes across parts of Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

According to the DRA Delta Doctors page and the program guidelines it links (marked effective October 15, 2022):

  • You must provide primary medical care at least 40 hours a week, or 160 hours a month, at a site in a HPSA, mental health HPSA, MUA, or MUP. DRA defines primary care as family or general practice, general internal medicine, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, and psychiatry.
  • DRA may recommend specialists if the sponsor explains why the specialty is needed, where the nearest such specialist is, and why the practice is viable.
  • The employer must recruit for 45 days at three levels (national, in-state, and state medical schools), before offering you the job and no more than 12 months before submitting.
  • The contract may not contain a non-compete or other restrictive covenant enforceable after the contract period.
  • DRA does not expedite review and asks you to allow at least 60 business days.

For your long-term plan: if your contract runs at least five years, DRA will accept a request for a support letter for a physician National Interest Waiver. We cover that green card route in our physician NIW guide.

Northern Border Regional Commission J-1 waiver

The NBRC J-1 waiver program started in December 2023 and covers designated HPSAs and MUA/Ps inside the Northern Border Region of Maine, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont. It accepts primary care physicians and, where regional need is proven, specialists.

From the NBRC J-1 Visa Waiver Program page and its October 2026 application instructions:

  • Your application goes to the state J-1 program administrator first. NBRC reviews it only after the state approves and sends a letter of recommendation.
  • Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont require applications to go through Conrad 30 until all 30 state slots are filled for the fiscal year.
  • The employer must show at least six months of good-faith recruitment for a US citizen physician.
  • NBRC says it accepts primary care and mental health physicians at a facility with any HPSA score, or in an MUA/P.
  • NBRC states that its program is not subject to an annual numerical cap, and its FAQ says there is no fee.
  • With a complete file, NBRC says applicants can expect a determination within 30 days.

Southeast Crescent Regional Commission J-1 waiver

The SCRC J-1 waiver program covers parts of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi, plus all of Florida. Its rules closely track DRA’s, with two notable differences: a heavier specialist file and an application fee.

From the SCRC J-1 Visa Waiver Program Guidelines posted in June 2025:

  • You must provide primary medical care at least 40 hours a week, or 160 hours a month, for at least three years at a HPSA, mental health HPSA, MUA, or MUP site inside the SCRC footprint. Applications from outside the region are not reviewed.
  • Specialists need, among other things, a letter from the facility’s chief medical officer and at least two support letters from unaffiliated primary care centers or practices in the area.
  • The guidelines list a $3,000 non-refundable application processing fee.
  • As with DRA, a contract of at least five years opens the door to an NIW support letter request.

How is a federal IGA waiver different from Conrad 30?

The biggest difference is who asks and how many waivers are available. A Conrad 30 waiver is requested by a state health department, and federal law caps each state at 30 per fiscal year. A federal agency request is not subject to that 30-per-state limit.

Under 8 USC 1184(l), the two routes share a common core:

Conrad 30 (state) Federal IGA (HHS, ARC, DRA, NBRC, SCRC)
Who requests State Department of Public Health or equivalent Federal agency or commission
Annual cap 30 per state per fiscal year No 30-per-state cap
Commitment 3 years full time, start within 90 days 3 years full time, start within 90 days
Practice location HHS-designated shortage areas, with up to 10 slots per state for facilities outside them that serve shortage-area patients Inside the shortage area and the agency’s region (VA and research requests excepted)
Program rules Set by each state Set by each agency
H-1B cap Exempt Exempt

The statute’s 10-slot flexibility for facilities outside a shortage area belongs to the state route. If your employer sits just outside a designated area, a state program may be your only option.

What happens after the agency recommends you?

After the agency or commission recommends you, the request goes to the Department of State. If it recommends favorably, USCIS makes the final decision. NBRC’s instructions put it simply: USCIS "retains sole authority to approve or deny the waiver."

Once the waiver is granted, 8 USC 1184(l)(2) lets you change status to H-1B, and you are not counted against the H-1B cap. Our guide to H-1B for physicians walks through that step.

The commitment is serious. If you do not fulfill the contract, the statute bars a green card, an immigrant visa, or another change of status until you spend two years in your home country. A shorter stay at the original facility is allowed only in extenuating circumstances, such as a closure or hardship, and you must then show a new qualifying job for the rest of the three years. ARC requires written concurrence before any transfer, and DRA and SCRC say they do not provide support letters for changes in employment status.

Choosing your path, and getting a second set of eyes

Which IGA program fits comes down to where your job is, what you practice, and how your timeline lines up with your J-1 end date. A family physician in rural West Virginia and a cardiologist in the Mississippi Delta face very different choices.

A licensed Ellis Porter attorney can map your worksite against each program’s footprint, identify which route gives you the cleanest file, and flag contract terms that could block a recommendation. Have your situation assessed before your employer starts recruiting, because several programs count the recruitment window backward from your filing date.

This article is general information, not legal advice, and does not create an attorney-client relationship. Program rules, fees, and review times are set by each agency and can change without notice; the details above reflect each program’s official materials as of November 1, 2026. Confirm current requirements with the program and a licensed immigration attorney before you file.

Frequently asked questions

What is an interested government agency waiver?

It is a waiver of the J-1 two-year home residency requirement that a US government agency requests on your behalf because you are actively and substantially involved in a program or activity it sponsors or cares about. Under 22 CFR 41.63(c), the agency explains in writing why the waiver is in the public interest and the harm its program would suffer without you. The Department of State reviews the request and USCIS decides.

Which federal agencies run J-1 waiver programs for physicians?

As of November 1, 2026, the main federal clinical programs are run by HHS and four regional commissions: the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC), the Delta Regional Authority (DRA), the Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC), and the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC). The Department of Veterans Affairs can also request waivers for physicians it employs. Each commission only places doctors at sites inside its own legislatively defined region.

Is a federal IGA waiver different from Conrad 30?

Yes. Conrad 30 requests come from a state health department, and federal law caps each state at 30 waivers per fiscal year. Federal agency requests are not subject to that 30-per-state cap. Both paths require a three-year, full-time commitment that starts within 90 days of the waiver, and both let you change to H-1B status without counting against the H-1B cap.

Does the Appalachian Regional Commission charge a fee for a J-1 waiver?

No. ARC’s program FAQ says there is no fee to apply for a waiver recommendation. NBRC’s FAQ also says it charges no fee. The SCRC guidelines list a $3,000 non-refundable application processing fee. Fees can change, so confirm the current amount with the program before you file.

Can a J-1 researcher who is not a doctor get an IGA waiver?

Yes, if a federal agency is willing to request it. The researcher must be actively and substantially involved in a program the agency sponsors or values. HHS, for example, looks for a high-priority program of national or international significance, a researcher who is integral to it, and proof that no suitable replacement can be found. Inconvenience to the employer is not enough.

Can a J-1 physician use a no objection statement instead?

Generally no. Under 22 CFR 41.63(d)(3), a foreign medical graduate who came for graduate medical education or training cannot get a waiver based only on a no objection statement from their home country. Those physicians usually need a Conrad 30 request, a federal agency request, or a hardship or persecution waiver.

Physicians: which J-1 waiver fits you?

Get a free physician waiver evaluation from an Ellis Porter attorney. Response within 1 business day.

Get your free physician waiver evaluation →